What you need to know about the Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliance Product Line 

Spending weeks configuring and transferring over all of your organizations firewall log rules can be time-consuming and often frustrating. But what if there was simpler approach to managing the security of your network? 

The Cisco Meraki MX is the most recognized and cloud-focused security appliance in the industry. By following these three simple rules, you will ensure that your changeover is successful and painless. 

1. It is important to remember that all Meraki appliances are licensed on a per model-base. This per model-base allows for each appliance to have its own unique, non-transferrable model-based license. Consider this, the 35 MX64 Advanced Security (1 year) cannot be purchased for the 35 MX67C Security Appliance. This is because both appliances have two different model-based licenses. 

2. The Cisco Meraki MX only has two license options: (1) Enterprise; and 2) Advanced Security. Each version offers different capabilities and functions on your network. When deciding which is best for your organization, it is important to compare each version to the needs of your network’s security. 

Below lists out the major differences between the Advanced Security and the Enterprise Licenses.


Enterprise License

Advanced Security License

Stateful firewall

VLAN to VLAN routing

Link bonding / failover

3G / 4G failover

Traffic shaping / prioritization

Site-to-site VPN

Client VPN

MPLS to VPN Failover

Splash pages

Configuration templates

HTTP content caching

Group Policies

Client connectivity alerts


Geography based firewall rules

Intrusion detection / prevention

Content filtering

Anti-virus and anti-phishing

Youtube for Schools

Web Search Filtering

AMP / Anti-malware

* Table provided courtesy of Cisco Meraki 

3. Whatever license option you choose it must be the same across the network of your entire organization. For example, if your organization purchased 35 shiny new MX67C Security Appliances, by Meraki Rules all 35 devices would have to run on the same license. Thus, you could not have 30 appliances running on an Enterprise license and the other 5 on an Advanced Security license. 

In closing there are three important rules you must remember in regards to the Meraki MX Product Line: (1) all appliances are licensed on a model-based; (2) there are only two licenses to chose from: (a) Enterprise and (b) Advanced Security; and (3) each license must be the same across the network of your entire organization.